Why do you do what you do?

I believe it’s time for a rant.  I’m sitting in Sunday morning worship   
at my home church.  I am disappointed.  I am frustrated.  I am upset.   
There are 11 rows of chairs in our sanctuary.  There is a total of 15   
people in the five front rows.  60 in the next 6 rows.  What does this   
say to visitors?  “”This is our church” is what it says.  We come here   
because we always have.  Maybe we come here because our parents always   
have.  We really don’t care that much about God.  We don’t want to get   
to close to Him.  If we do, he might convict us.  He might show us our   
sins we won’t let go of.  Besides if we sit at the front, the preacher   
might call on us.  I know I have already started down this road but   
what does it say to God?  “We are really here to pay lip service to   
You”. Please don’t ask me to step out God, I  show up on sunday   
mornings, I put a couple dollars in the offering.  Isn’t that enough.   
Aren’t we merely teaching our children that God will be happy with our   
second best?  Or even in some cases our third best.  I spent some time   
reading this morning, reading from the book of Jeremiah.  God gave his   
people many “second” chances.  When the remnant refused Gods   
direction, he cut them off.  This makes me think of how his people   
acted during the exodus.  When he told them to go in and take their   
new land, they didn’t.  He made them as a people, wander through the   
wilderness for 40 years. Until all of those who denied him died.  I   
want to point you towards Revelations 3:16, “So, because you are   
lukewarm, and neither hot nor cold, I am going to vomit you out of My   
mouth.”  God states his position bluntly.  He has demonstrated over   
and over again, his response to those who talk the talk, but don’t   
completely walk the walk.  The time is coming in the United States,   
when God will sift the wheat from the chaff.  I believe that the time   
of Gods final sifting is nearly upon us.  People will then not have a   
second chance.  I pray that all those thus far unwilling to fully   
commit to him. Will soon find it within themselves to take that step.   
I pray that I will make that commitment also.

Published in: on August 9, 2008 at 7:12 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ronzilla77.wordpress.com/2008/08/09/why-do-you-do-what-you-do/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

